The Butterflies of The Butterflies of Lorraine

Four départements comprise Lorraine; Moselle, Meuse, Meurthe-et-Moselle and Vosges.


Five sites surround the village of Montenach. A rich limestone grassland.

Butterfly species include:

Black-veined white, Swallowtail, Pale clouded yellow, Ilex hairstreak, Large copper, Duke of Burgundy and Camberwell beauty. As well as other typical grassland species such as Adonis and Small blue.



© All pictures in these pages copyright to Simon Coombes. Permission must be sought and obtained for any use.